Friendly neighborhood hospital

Madness.  My husband left for the weekend so my body decided it would be a good time to go ape crazy.   I was feeling a little more numb than usual and my brain felt heavy and woozy.  I know those are terrible descriptors, but I can’t think of clever words at the moment.

After a day of swimming…. you’re thinking-  heat did it…. I don’t think so.  I wore my cooling vest filled with ice packs AND dipped in cold water just for extra measure.  I stayed in the shade, drank 3 liters of water, and stepped in the freezing cold pool regularly.

Back to my story.. So after swimming, I was driving and kept feeling like I was going to black out.  I had strange almost electric-like seconds of darkness WHILE DRIVING my kids. So, ended up at my friendly neighbor ER.  That was a terrible experience.  CT Scan, EKG… They sent me home.  Once I got home things got super wicked weird.  Numb all over, brain felt full and like cottony.  My vision on the left side started going wonky again.  My eyes were jumpy.  Then guess what?  I peed on the floor.  Yep, I did.  There was no pee, then it was all over the floor.  My body was so numb I didn’t even know I had to go.  It was most disturbing!  And kinda funny too.

I talked with a doctor from my primary care group.  He sent me back to the ER.  There, I began a 3 day IV infusion vacation of Solumedrol steroids.  I had essentially six MRIs in one, an EEG and lots of labs.

The result?  Acute Relapsing Multiple Sclerosis

I’d been told MS before, but the “Acute Relapsing” was a new.  The neurologist on call was super sharp.  He knew his MS stuff.  The sweet, sweet lady who did my MRIs also has MS and spent lots of time encouraging me and then showed me all of my brain and spine.  She showed me on the post contrast images where all the active inflammation was on my brain.  She then recommended her neurologist and we talked about support groups.

I told the neurologist I’d give Disease Modifying Drugs a try.  He said it was time to start fighting the MS.  So I suppose the next step is learning how to do self injections THREE times a WEEK!  I know it’s not a big deal, lots of people do it, blah blah….. I don’t like shots, ok?

So there it is.  I’ve been home now for three full days.  I feel worse now than when I went to the hospital.  Im not sure what that means. The nerve signals in my body are all jacked up.  I’m having shocking electrical nerve pains.  But I’m so thankful to also be feeling sensations that were numb for months.  I don’t know if it will last, but I’m thankful to just “feel” things, even though it hurts.  I’m still feeling like I’m going to pass out several times an hour.  I have ringing in my ears and my vision is still strange.

I’ll keep you updated.

3 thoughts on “Friendly neighborhood hospital

  1. It is so very hard sometimes…very hard to describe how you feel. Hard to “do it all” too. Are you alright? I find some comfort in the existance of another homeschooling parent with MS. I have 10 year old with sensory issues also. My only child. I ‘ve got my hands full. How do you do it?

Leave a Reply

